Mark Fischer Catalog - page 14

Mark Fischer
August 2015
Page 13
The Iroquois confederacy is made up of six independent
matriarchal nations: Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga,
Seneca, and Tuscarora. These six, nations took the path of
peace and friendship, uniting as a confederacy under the
Great Law of Peace. The Iroquois Nations are not only
grouped into clans, but are also divided into two sides or
moieties, called the Elder Brothers and the Younger Brothers.
It is this great example of honor, sharing and friendship that
we envisioned in our design. Our U.S. Constitution is based
on the matriarchal nations' Great Law of Peace.
Garden Sculpture
68” x 33”
During the nighttime we see the moon. We have been
instructed to address her as our Grandmother. In her cycle, she
makes her face new in harmony with other female life. Our
Grandmother Moon still follows the instructions of the Creator.
Within these are the natural cycles of women. She determines
the arrival of children, causes the tides of the oceans and she
helps us measure time. Our Grandmother continues to lead us.
We are grateful and express our thanksgiving.
(Iroquois Prayer of Thanksgiving)
Garden Sculpture
74” x 14”
1...,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13 15,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23,24,...36
Powered by FlippingBook